Lament for Saint Cecilia Poem set to music by composer Paul Stanhope

 

Gondwana Chorale, conducted by Paul Holley St Johns College, Cambridge
January 2013

Music by Paul Stanhope (Australia)
Lyrics by Veronica Pamoukaghlian

Saint Cecilia
You hurt me, hurt me
hurt me so

You brought me life
and took it all
left me
a beggar
without an instrument

You made me love
mirages
ivory slums
and giant midgets too
with their ant bands

You dazzled with your heavenness
your piano milk
the honeyed silk
of melodies
unknown
and yet dreamed of

You lured and charmed
and cast your spells
as pagan as the Celts
and the Olympian bards

You sang from church
but led me into hell

and now I burn
and long not for escape

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

